WZL - Pressemitteilung

 

Federal President Steinmeier on RWTH Aachen Campus at his inaugural visit to North Rhine-Westphalia

In the Production Engineering Cluster, he visited the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen and the electric car developer e.GO Mobile AG.

Aachen, 12 March 2018 Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier, accompanied by his wife Elke Büdenbender, came to North Rhine-Westphalia on 12 March 2018 for his official inaugural visit. Alongside the North Rhine-Westphalian Minister President Armin Laschet and his wife Susanne Laschet, as well as Prof. Ernst Schmachtenberg, Rector of RWTH, and Prof. Günther Schuh, Managing Director of the WZL, they visited the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University, and the electric car developer e.GO Mobile AG in the Production Engineering Cluster on RWTH Aachen Campus.

“The University of Excellence RWTH Aachen with its Campus project is an impressive example of how close cooperation between science and industry can generate real innovation. With success stories like the StreetScooter and the e.GO Life, North Rhine-Westphalia has the potential to drive progress in e-mobility. RWTH is a pioneer in this field, opening up new avenues of development in the transition to sustainable transportation. Innovation comes from North Rhine-Westphalia and not just California,” said Minister President Armin Laschet.

The Production Engineering Cluster on RWTH Aachen Campus is one of the largest research laboratories for production engineering and Industrie 4.0 in Europe. For more than a century, the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen, initiator of this cluster, has enjoyed a global reputation for its pioneering research and highly successful innovations in the field of production engineering. During their visit to the WZL, the guests got an insight into the Chair of Production Metrology and Quality Management – one of four departments in the WZL – by Prof. Robert Schmitt, Director of the WZL. The institute is also involved in the development of the e.GO Life electric car.


Metrology assisted assembly (WZL hall in the Production Engineering Cluster); f. l. t. r. Prof. Robert Schmitt (WZL), Elke Büdenbender, Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Armin Laschet, Prof. Günther Schuh, Susanne Laschet, Prof. Ernst Schmachtenberg
© Campus GmbH/Heike Lachmann

Next, e.GO Mobile AG CEO Prof. Günther Schuh presented the e.GO Life electric car to the guests. The production researcher explained how e.GO Mobile AG uses the network of science and industry on RWTH Aachen Campus to enable particularly cost-efficient prototype and small series production with Industrie 4.0. Series production of the e.GO Life will begin in mid-2018 at a new factory in Aachen Rothe-Erde. The State of North Rhine-Westphalia is supporting the construction of e.GO Mobile AG’s production site through its Regional Economic Development Program (RWP).


City electric car e.GO Life (Ramp-Up Factory within the Production Engineering Cluster); f. l. t. r. Susanne Laschet, Armin Laschet, Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Elke Büdenbender, Prof. Günther Schuh
© Campus GmbH/Heike Lachmann

“RWTH Aachen is preeminent among the many universities and scientific institutions of North Rhine-Westphalia, thanks among other things to its important contribution to e-mobility. Researchers here are doing what conventional car manufacturers claimed was impossible: building electric cars at reasonable prices. I am very excited to hear what happens here in future,” said Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier.

Download the full press release

WZL - Pressemitteilung

 

Bundespräsident Steinmeier kommt zum Antrittsbesuch in NRW auf den RWTH Aachen Campus

Im Cluster Produktionstechnik besuchte er das Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen und den Elektro-Autoentwickler e.GO Mobile AG.

Aachen, 12. März 2018 – Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier kam mit seiner Frau Elke Büdenbender am 12. März 2018 zu seinem offiziellen Antrittsbesuch nach Nordrhein-Westfalen. Gemeinsam mit dem nordrhein-westfälischen Ministerpräsidenten Armin Laschet und seiner Ehefrau Susanne Laschet, RWTH-Rektor Prof. Ernst Schmachtenberg sowie dem geschäftsführenden Direktor des WZL Prof. Günther Schuh besuchten sie das Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen und den Elektro-Fahrzeugentwickler e.GO Mobile AG im Cluster Produktionstechnik auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus.

"Die Exzellenzuniversität RWTH Aachen mit ihrem Campus-Projekt zeigt in beeindruckender Weise, wie enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis echte Innovationen hervorbringen kann. Gerade mit Erfolgsgeschichten wie dem StreetScooter und dem e.GO Life kann Nordrhein-Westfalen zum Motor der Elektromobilität werden. Die RWTH ist hier Vorreiter und eröffnet neue Optionen für die Verkehrswende. Innovationen kommen eben nicht nur aus Kalifornien, sondern auch aus Nordrhein-Westfalen“, so Ministerpräsident Armin Laschet.

Das Cluster Produktionstechnik auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus ist eines der größten Forschungslabore zum Thema Produktionstechnik und Industrie 4.0 in Europa. Das Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen, Initiator dieses Clusters, steht weltweit seit mehr als 100 Jahren für zukunftsweisende Forschung und erfolgreiche Innovationen auf dem Gebiet der Produktionstechnik. Die Gäste erhielten im WZL einen Einblick in den Lehrstuhl Fertigungsmesstechnik und Qualitätsmanagement – einer von insgesamt vier Lehrstühlen am WZL – von Prof. Robert Schmitt, Direktor des WZL. Das Institut ist ebenfalls an der Entwicklung des Elektroautos e.GO Life beteiligt.



Messtechnisch-gestützte Montage (WZL-Halle im Cluster Produktionstechnik); v.l.n.r. Prof. Robert Schmitt (WZL), Elke Büdenbender, Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Armin Laschet, Prof. Günther Schuh, Susanne Laschet, Prof. Ernst Schmachtenberg
© Campus GmbH/Heike Lachmann


Im Anschluss stellte Prof. Günther Schuh, CEO der e.GO Mobile AG, den Gästen das Elektroauto e.GO Life vor. Der Produktionsforscher erläuterte, wie das Unternehmen e.GO Mobile AG das Netzwerk aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus nutzt, um mit Industrie 4.0 eine besonders kostengünstige Prototypen- und Kleinserienproduktion zu ermöglichen. Die Serienproduktion des e.GO Life startet im Frühjahr 2018 in einem neuen Werk in Aachen Rothe-Erde. Das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen unterstützt den Aufbau der Produktionsstätte der e.GO Mobile AG durch das Regionale Wirtschaftsförderungsprogramm.



Elektrostadtauto e.GO Life (Anlauffabrik im Cluster Produktionstechnik ), v.l.n.r. Susanne Laschet, Armin Laschet, Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Elke Büdenbender, Prof. Günther Schuh
© Campus GmbH/Heike Lachmann

"In der vielfältigen Universitäts- und Wissenschaftslandschaft Nordrhein-Westfalen ragt die Technische Hochschule in Aachen heraus, unter anderem durch ihren wichtigen Beitrag zur Elektromobilität. Hier wird gezeigt, was von den klassischen Autobauern bisher nicht für möglich gehalten wurde, nämlich Elektroautos zu vertretbaren Preisen zu bauen. Ich bin schon sehr gespannt, was wir hier noch zu hören bekommen“, so Bundespräsident Frank-Walter Steinmeier.

Presseinformation als Download