Infrastructure

 

Production Engineering Cluster at RWTH Aachen Campus


© Campus GmbH/Richter

Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) is the initiator of the Production Engineering Cluster at the RWTH Aachen Campus.This cluster is set to become one of the largest research laboratories for production technology and Industry 4.0 in Europe. The research focus here will be digitally integrated production. Industry and science will explore the possibilities of Industry 4.0 and the Internet of Things (IoT) for the production development process and cyber-physically integrated production. Here you can read the brochure on the Production Engineering Cluster.

The Manfred-Weck House



About 3400 m2 in the office area and 3200 m2 as shop floors and laboratories have been available at the WZL until 2005. With the implementation of the additional new building in harvest of 2005 some more 4000 m2 of effective area could be established. So the institute will be able to meet the demands and the growing areas of activities of the future. With an equipment of more than 100 machines and test benches, with laboratories like metallography or measuring room, some different shop floors and a continuously renewed equipment in computing the institute fullfills all requests to solve even complexe tasks and industrial problems.

Office area (on the right) shop floors (in the middle) and the re-education unit ADITEC (in front) in 2006




Replacement areas at the Rotterbruch


© WZL/Winandy

Due to the WZL-Fire in February 2016, we were forced to temporarily switch to different replacement areas. At Rotter Bruch we are working in the fields of grinding, forming and planning technology as well as cutting technology. Futhermore our machine workshop and training workshop is located there.

Infrastruktur

 

Cluster Produktionstechnik auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus


© Campus GmbH/Richter

Das Werkzeugmaschinenlabor ist Initiator des Cluster Produktionstechnik auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus. Künftig wird es eines der größten Forschungslabore zum Thema Produktionstechnik und Industrie 4.0 in Europa werden. Der Forschungsschwerpunkt ist die digital integrierte Produktion. Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft erschließen experimentell die Möglichkeiten durch Industrie 4.0 und des Internet-of-Things (IoT) für den Produktentwicklungsprozess und die cyber-physisch integrierte Produktion. Hier finden Sie die Broschüre des Cluster Produktionstechnik.

Das Manfred-Weck-Haus



Rund 3400 m² Bürofläche und 3200 m² Hallen und Laborräume standen den Forschern am WZL bis zum Jahr 2005 für ihre Arbeit zur Verfügung. Mit der Inbetriebnahme des Erweiterungsgebäudes im Herbst 2005 konnten weitere 4000 m² Nettonutzfläche hinzugefügt werden. Mit einer Ausstattung von über 100 Maschinen und Prüfständen, mit Laboren wie Metallographie oder Messraum, mehreren Werkstätten und einer stets auf dem neuesten Stand gehaltenen Rechnerausstattung verfügen wir über beste Voraussetzungen, auch komplexe Aufgabenstellungen im Hause zu bearbeiten.

Das WZL im RWTH-Erweiterungsgelände Seffent-Melaten (2006): Bürotrakt (rechts), Halle (links) und ADITEC (vorne)





Ersatzflächen am Rotter Bruch



Aufgrund des WZL-Hallenbrandes im Februar 2016 waren wir gezwungen vorübergehend auf verschiedene Ersatzflächen auszuweichen. Im Rotter Bruch konnten wir u.a. die Bereiche Umformtechnik und Zerspantechnologie sowie die mechanische Werkstatt und Lehrwerkstatt unterbringen.