Forschungsbereich

 

Surface zone analysis

Surface zone analysis




    Surface zone analysis by X-ray diffraction

    Residual stresses (RS) are amongst the material characteristics which influence the operating behavior of components and tools. Residual stresses include stresses which are active in a component without the effect of external forces, and therefore without loading. They arise and chan-ge due to thermal and mechanical impacts, amongst other reasons, from heat treatment, particular processing procedures (e.g. grinding, milling, shot peening, coating of component surfaces), or from loading in operation.

    Due to the measurement of the lattice strains the X-ray microstructure analysis offers the possibility to quantify the residual stress state of the three dimensional space lattice of a crystalline material. Tri-axial RS-states can be evaluated as well as phase, macro and micro stresses in case of multiphase materials.

    A further area of application is the phase analysis, which detects the existing crystalline material phases from the position of the diffraction lines and specifies their volume content from the intensity of the lines. A well known application of the method is the determination of the retained austenite content for the evaluation of the material states after heat treatment or plastic deformation.

    Manipulations of the micro structure due to mechanical and thermal overrides can change the texture (orientation of the crystals), which can be illustrated with intensity pole figures.


    Benefits of the surface zone analysis

    Today high standards are asked for the useful properties of products. Therefore it is important to examine influences on the component quality, when introducing new manufacturing processes, tools and cooling strategies. The workpiece surface states of the functional areas of both operating partners are very important at the matter, since they are mostly exposed to special loads, like abrasive or chemical wear, Hertzian pressure and relative move. The causes of component failure, rudiments for improvement of manufacturing processes and future strategies for product developments can be derived from exact knowledge of the residual stresses and the contents of the material phases in connection with the classical analysis methods measurement of hardness and surface roughness, metallography as well as light and scanning electron microscopy.



    Randzonenanalyse Anwendungsfälle

Forschungsbereich

 

Randzonenanalyse

Randzonenanalyse

    Randzonenanalyse durch Röntgenbeugung
    Zu den Werkstoffkennwerten, die das Betriebsverhalten von Bau-teilen beeinflussen, zählen u. a. die Eigenspannungen (ES). Diese bezeichnen Spannungen, die ohne Einwirkung äußerer Kräfte und damit ohne Lastspannungen in einem Bauteil wirksam sind. Sie entstehen und ändern sich in Folge thermischer und mechanischer Einwirkungen beispielsweise durch Wärmebehandlung, verfahrens-bedingte Bearbeitung (z.B. Schleifen, Fräsen, Kugelstrahlen, Beschichtung von Bauteiloberflächen) oder durch Beanspruchung im Betrieb.
    Die Röntgenfeinstrukturanalyse bietet die Möglichkeit, über die Mes-sung der Gitterdehnungen die Eigenspannungen kristalliner Werk-stoffe quantitativ zu beschreiben. Es können 3-achsige Spannungs-zustände bestimmt sowie bei mehrphasigen Werkstoffen die Phasen-, Makro- und Mikroeigenspannungen angegeben werden.
    Ein weiteres Anwendungsgebiet ist die Phasenanalyse, die aus den Lagen der Beugungslinien die im Werkstoff vorliegenden kristallinen Phasen ermittelt und aus den Intensitäten die Volumenanteile bestimmt. Eine bekannte Anwendung des Verfahrens ist die Bestim-mung des Restaustenitgehaltes zur Beurteilung der Werkstoffzu-stände nach Wärmebehandlungen oder plastischen Verformungen.
    Mechanische und thermische Beeinflussungen des Mikrogefüges können zu Änderungen der Textur (Kristallorientierung) führen, deren Darstellung in sogenannten Intensitätspolfiguren erfolgt.

    Nutzen der Randzonenanalyse
    An die Gebrauchseigenschaften von Produkten werden immer höhere Qualitätsanforderungen gestellt. Daher ist bei der Einführung neuer Fertigungsprozesse, Werkzeuge und Kühlstrategien der Einfluss auf die Bauteileigenschaften zu untersuchen. Eine Schlüsselrolle spielt dabei die Randzonenbeschaffenheit der Funktionsflächen von den Wirkpartnern, die in vielen Fällen einer besonderen Belastung, wie abrasivem oder chemischem Verschleiß, Hertz´scher Pressung oder Relativbewegungen ausgesetzt ist. Durch die genaue Kenntnis der Eigenspannungen und Phasen-gehalte lassen sich in Verbindung mit den klassischen Analysen Härtemessung, Oberflächenrauheit, Metallografie sowie Licht- und Rasterelektronenmikroskopie in vielen Anwendungsfällen die Ursachen für ein Bauteilversagen, Ansätze zur Verbesserung von Fertigungsprozessen und zukünftige Strategien zur Weiterent-wicklung von Produkten ableiten.

    Randzonenanalyse Anwendungsfälle